Thank the Troops

11 Nov

I recently learned of a wonderful program that Shutterfly does in which you’re able to send (and personalize) a card to be sent to the troops thanking them for their service on Veteran’s Day (today!)

It takes just a moment to do and there are four great designs to choose from:

I really hope you can take a quick moment and thank our troops for all that they’re doing and send a card today. It’s a fun thing to do with your kids as well as an opportunity to teach them about gratitude. I had a fun time explaining to Bear what the military was. In the end I just told him that they’re the people that fight the bad guys. He seemed to like that explanation.

This past Halloween the kids also donated their candy to the troops which is a great program that I had heard about online and on the news. It’s a Halloween Candy buy back and a bunch of local dentists participate in it and for every pound of candy you donate you get a dollar and the candy goes to operation gratitude. We had acquired more than enough candy, so we picked out our favorites and donated the rest. Plus, I’m sure we’ll be getting tons of Christmas candy soon enough. And mommy probably should lay off all the twix anyway. I was very sad that there was only one smarties in all of the kids candy. The H tells me because no one likes smarties, but I informed him that their my favorite of all the Halloween candy!

These were both just small ways that we were thankful both to our troops overseas and thankful for the things that we had and wanted to show our gratitude. What do you do teach your children about gratitude year-round and especially around Thanksgiving?


I do have a partnership with Shutterfly and was asked to write about their really great program to thank the troops. All opinions and typos are my own. 

12 Responses to “Thank the Troops”

  1. memyselfandkids November 11, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    That’s great that you had your kids do something so meaningful.

    • Marta November 19, 2012 at 4:55 pm #

      Thank you! I try, but it OFTEN doesn’t work out quite so well.

  2. Galit Breen (@GalitBreen) November 11, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    What a lovely thing to do! Pure lovely!

    • Marta November 19, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

      Thank you! :-)

  3. Deborah the Closet Monster November 12, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    Until I read your question, I don’t know that I’d actually thought about teaching my son gratitude. I try to say “thank you” often, and I beam when he says these words, but I do want to take proactive steps to ensure that “thank you” is more than just words to him. I’ve got some thinking to do. I thank you for that.

    • Marta November 19, 2012 at 6:43 pm #

      You’re always make me think its about time I did too :-) I wish I could do more to teach my kids gratitude, because often I look around and think they just have SO much and they have NO idea.

  4. Corey Feldman November 12, 2012 at 7:23 pm #

    What a great lesson for your kids!

    • Marta November 19, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

      Thank you :-) I’m thinking of what we could do around thanksgiving, but I find it difficult to make he notion of helping and gratitude really sink in my almost 6 year old!

  5. ateatray November 15, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    This is something that I need to work on. Thanks for making me think!

    • Marta November 19, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

      :-) I wish that it would sink in more with Bear. He does the actions, but I don’t think they’re really resonating with WHY we’re doing them.


  1. The Paper Mother. « Lost and Forgotten - November 20, 2012

    […] try to teach my children gratitude and yet I cannot seem to walk out of Target without a gift for them. They both have bookshelves […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers

