Sun. Sand. Summer.

29 May

Have I mentioned recently how I love hot weather? How when I attend conferences in San Antonio or Orlando in August I squeal in excitement? Yes, I am aware that by some strange twist of fate I reside in Minnesota, but in my heart I know I was meant to be a California girl. I have high aspirations of making it there one day despite the H’s protestations about cost of living. So when it gets hot in Minnesota, which it definitely does, I relish in it. The first sunny and warm Monday in May I already put the kids to task taking out all the patio furniture from the shed and washing it up. Bear was on the all important spider patrol.

And I was very excited that it was finally warm enough for Bella to wear the nine million dresses I bought her secretly wishing they would make them in adult sizes.

Last year we somehow didn’t make it to the beach once despite the fact that it is quite close to my house. Having grown up on Chicago’s lakeshore it’s not really considered a beach by my standards, but it’s the closest thing to home that I’ve found here. And I’m sure it’s nothing compared to the beach when we are one day California residents.

The kids got busy making potions. And Bella got busy eating sand. Now I understand once to give it a try, but what perplexes me is why does she keep going back for more? Does she enjoy the taste? Any ideas on how to discourage this sandy eating behavior because she tries to make a meal out of it!

Bella’s eyeing the sand from the water wondering if she should have it with a side of lake water or juice.

At home we eat some Popsicles

or chocolate ice cream that actually she didn’t finish so I did … and it was delicious. It was so not on my diet, but the last week has been so not on my diet.

Bear likes to spend his time at the beach not eating sand but instead splashing around

or trying to shoot us with the armory of water guns that he’s acquiring. Also, I have learned that when it comes to water guns it really pays to go brand name. We have two Nerf super soakers and two generic ones and I always feel bad for whoever gets stuck with the latter because unless you’re standing arms length from someone you’re probably not going to get them.

Bear’s other new favorite task is to sing a long to Adele in my car. Which I LOVE and always puts a giant smile on my face when he starts singing a long. Bella is not so sure about it.

if she’s not being grumpy about it I feel like she’s trying to hide from the sounds of my tone deaf rendition of Rolling in the Deep.

She’s a very opinionated girl. In fact when we do go to the beach she insists on pulling her wagon up the VERY steep hill all by herself. I feel like I need an escalator up this hill the way my thighs are burning as I huff and puff my way up.

While we did have pool ambitions this Memorial Day weekend, I was saddened to discover our pool doesn’t open until June 5th! There is new pool at Como Park (that I cannot wait to try out) but it was just too far to make it to on our limited time frame because it poured all of Saturday and on Sunday my MIL scheduled dinner at 4pm. Which is kind of in the middle of the afternoon thus requiring us to kind of schedule our day around it. So we were once again beach bound.

With the sandy toes to prove it. I was however smart enough to finally remember the baby powder trick and bring some. Since I have two giant containers of baby powder one from Bear’s baby shower and the other from Bella’s I am keeping one in the trunk now as this is the only use I have found for it currently. And it works, it really really works. Sand comes off of you without any hassle! However after the H tried to baby powder Bella in the trunk it pretty much looks like a blow explosion occurred. So I’m hoping I don’t get pulled over anytime soon.

Sadly, I have no pictures from actual Memorial Day. Memorial Day was also the day that the H decided is perhaps when he should take down the Christmas lights. At this point I told him he might as well keep them up he’ll be putting them back up soon enough, but he didn’t listen. We had 30 people over to our house for a BBQ and in between cleaning and mowing and prepping food and hosting I just didn’t get any photos. Though most of the BBQ for Bella could be summed up with bubbles. This is from Sunday, but it will just have to do.

What are your favorite summer activties with your family? And most importantly hot weather or cold weather?

Linked with Just Write

Most photos from instagram: follow me motus8

13 Responses to “Sun. Sand. Summer.”

  1. Jennifer Phillips (@thepsychobabble) May 29, 2012 at 7:30 am #

    hot weather. definitely hot weather. The beach is good, but I kind of prefer the park, because there’s no sand.
    Or the library, because there is air conditioning…

    • Marta May 31, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

      lol. Yeah I like the pool because there is no sand. But I’m not a big fan of air conditioning!

  2. Corey Feldman May 29, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    I’m the same way. DC does get hot int he summers sadly too cold in the winters. Love the pictures so cute. I was very happy out pool opened this weekend

    • Marta May 31, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

      I was in DC for a work conference in August and it was definitely hot. :-) I’m hoping this will be the weekend for the pool!

  3. Jenni Chiu May 29, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    Totally should have left the Christmas lights up.
    Also, Cali rocks. Come visit.

    • Marta May 31, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

      I agree about both statements!

      I am fingers crossed going to be in San Diego in August for a work conference.

  4. Go Jules Go May 29, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    I just love your pictures! And I hope you do make it to California, but send Bear to Jersey so he can do spider patrol for me, LOL

    I like some snow, and I LOVE the fall, but summer grows on me more and more. Possibly because we’re lucky enough to have gotten a house with a working pool (although it’s a LOT of work). I busted my toosh all weekend, but she’s up and runnin’ now!

    • Marta May 31, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

      YOU HAVE A POOL. Obviously I have to make a detour to Jersey then.

  5. The Dreaded 'Tis May 29, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

    Oh my gosh, loooooooove those pictures!!!! But you will have to bring your sweet family to NJ so I can take you to a real beach!! But, fake beach or real, loved seeing and reading about all of the magic you’re making!!

    • Marta May 31, 2012 at 7:22 pm #

      Aww thank you. I have never been to the Jersey Shore, but I am told that it is nothing like the show. :-)

      • The Dreaded 'Tis June 5, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

        Bwahahahahaha!!! It’s a liiiiiitle bit like the show, but mostly just the “fashion”, LOL!!

  6. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife May 29, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    you have such cute kiddos! you’ll have some pretend Cali fun when it warms up in MN for the long haul and the pool opens! :)

    • Marta May 31, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

      I know! I can’t wait for those 80 and sunny days!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers

