From the Beginning.

4 May

It started in 1985. In Poland.

But what if it hadn’t?

What if it was elsewhere?

We fled communism for Munich and awaited our visas to Australia. What if we got them?

In 1989 we moved to Chicago, but if we didn’t?

Evanston found us in 1993; friendships still over a decade strong were forged. Tearstained pillow cases established their home in the middle school years. What if we had never arrived?

1998. Mexico. An incident occurred that would forever change every aspect of how I perceived the world and myself. Who would I be if we had gone to the Bahamas instead?

In 2003 I chose the University of Minnesota over my first choice of Fordham University in NYC for love. If I had gone to New York I would not  have met and married my husband.

6 years ago in 2006 I graduated early and started my job at the Museum. I was going to go to Law School, what if I had?

Had a misstep been taken.  A different plane boarded. Why the possibilities are limitless. Of who I would be, of who you would be. Of how we would cross. Grain against grain. Smoothed to glass or swept to sea.

Each of these moments strung together, seemingly meaningless infinite strands of chance encounters braided, entwine us. Hold us close. The edges may fray. You may tug and pull and attempt to unravel. But once bound we have forever made an impression. Whether fate or chance unknown.

I have known you and you me.

Our paths may change, the stream will flow into the river into the ocean, the current carrying us apart. But you two have made your way into the world, born by me, by chance, by fate, by divine power. With me forever.

And when I asked of you to hold a hand and you held his, I knew that you will have your own path. That you will travel. Together. Alone. Without me.

We will each make our own way through the crevices and mountain tops. Traverses narrow and deep holding our dreams in sweaty palms.

Clinging to hopes, wishes unwished, loves unloved.

I don’t know what I believe in, but I believe in you.

For as long as we are together, let’s make it better.

This post came to be because she read a cartoon and tweeted it. And she read that tweet and blogged it. And I read that blog post and felt it. 

I have also used this as a contest entry for a full sponsorship to the Type-A Parent Conference from Brica. Brica’s Motto is ‘Making Together Better’ and you can find Brica on both Facebook and Twitter.

21 Responses to “From the Beginning.”

  1. MommyNaniBooboo May 4, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    I love this. Love this. Love this.
    Lovely way to illustrate that everything leads us to where we are now.

    • Marta May 4, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

      Thank you so much!

  2. Tracy Morrison (@sellabitmum) May 4, 2012 at 11:59 am #

    I love this so much my friend. xo

    • Marta May 4, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      Thank you! I had started to worry that I had read it too many times and was too close to it and thus no longer able to see if it was good critically. =)

  3. gojulesgo May 4, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    This was wonderful, Marta! My husband and I were just talking last night about decisions that change our lives! It really is miraculous to look back and think one small change and EVERYTHING would be so different. Although I’m selfishly kinda sad you didn’t come to NY for school, LOL, maybe we would have crossed paths! ;)

    • Marta May 7, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      I know, its crazy to think how different things could be. I realize I kind of forgot a big one — what if I didn’t have Ben!

      I would have loved NYC I think. :-)

  4. neilochka May 6, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    Such a powerful post, at least the ideas behind it. It really is true, that one slight change in direction can change everything.

    • Marta May 7, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

      To think that also the choices that others make how they will effect you. Had I moved to NYC that would have affect everyone I have subsequently met in Minnesota and everyone I would have met in NYC. If you think too much about it you realize just how interconnected everything thing is.

      I can’t decide where I fall on believing or not believing in fate, so I tried to not directly go there even though that’s were the post was trying to direct me.

  5. maybaby May 6, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    Beautiful post Marta!

  6. daniellesmithtv May 6, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

    Oh Marta – this is glorious. Just one left turn instead of a right and everything would be different. I adore the pictures, the sentiment. You have truly made me think. Thank you.

    • Marta May 7, 2012 at 12:48 pm #

      Thank you so much for that comment. It all stemmed from a post that I had read that made ME think. =)

  7. Galit Breen (@GalitBreen) May 7, 2012 at 4:39 am #

    This is…breath taking-ly beautiful.

    And oh my, yes – the meant to be-ness of it all, that is breath taking, too.


    • Marta May 7, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

      Thank you, your praise means so much to me!

  8. Jessica Watson (@JessBWatson) May 7, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Oh wow, this is amazing and so true. Amazing the turns we take and how just one different turn could have changed our life completely.

    • Marta May 7, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

      I know! Its crazy if you really start thinking about all the possibilities and things that could have changed.

  9. Elaine May 7, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

    It truly is mind-boggling to think about, isn’t it? I have these same thoughts sometimes. Reminds me of that Gwyneth Paltrow movie, “Sliding Doors” – have you seen it?

    Your words are so though provoking, Marta!

    • Marta May 7, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      YES! I had a whole paragraph about the movie, but then I deleted it because I felt like I was going off on a random tangent. :-D

  10. Nicole May 7, 2012 at 7:46 pm #

    This is a great post. I also can’t get over how that second photo looks so much like Ben.

    • Marta May 8, 2012 at 10:17 pm #

      I KNOW! Thats why it drives me crazy when everyone always says how they look like the H. Um no, they look a lot like me too because they have my eyes!

  11. Polish Mama on the Prairie May 8, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    Beautiful post, Marta. As usual, you use words to tell your story and it rings true for my own as well. I love this. You are really talented.

    • Marta May 8, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

      Thank you. So much.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers

