#HungerGames Hangover

23 Mar

Last night This morning at 12:04am I saw the Hunger Games. By the grace of God and Starbucks I arrived at work at 8am reasonably bright eyed and bushy tailed.

The movie was fantastic.

Yes, there were parts they omitted that I don’t understand. They did not take anything away from the first movie, but they were important precursors for the future movies.

Take for example the mockingjay pin: Katniss acquires it by buying it and then gives it to Prim to wear to the reaping. She only gets it back after Prim comes to say goodbye. Then we never really see it again until Cinna puts on her jacket, discreetly hidden by the collar before she goes into the arena. Two more times briefly by Rue and President Snow it is mentioned and seen.

There were no Avox.

Peeta and Katniss never talk on the roof or mention how it will beam you back and won’t let you fall off.

There were other things, but they were minor.

I was really concerned by marketing the movie as PG13 it would take away from the graphic violent nature of the book which is so fundamental to the story line. I think however they did a good job staying true to what happened without being overly visual or gory about it. You know death is happening, but you don’t necessarily watch it.

I loved Wes Bentley as Seneca Crane, and almost sort of want the H to have that elaborate beard. In my mind I feel like I could truly smell the blood on Presidents Snow’s breath, but I would have liked perhaps a little mention of it. A nose crinkle or something after he turned away.

Sometimes I couldn’t tell Peeta and Cato apart, so there was also that. They were both however quite easy on the eyes.

Being a big fan of instant gratification I read the trilogy in three days as I could not wait any more moments to crack the spine open and turn to the next page. I ignored my children and husband all weekend and savored every page until late in the night when my eyelids were too droopy to concentrate. I couldn’t wait for the movie to come out.

Yesterday I prepared myself to see the movie by scouring the internet (to dismay) to find a proper “how to” of Katniss’s braid. I’m hoping now that the movie is out, die hard fans will take the time to study, recreate and post their findings.

After watching the movie and arriving back home at 3:30 am I couldn’t fall asleep consumed with the thoughts of if we had a department wide Hunger Games who would win. Specifically who would I kill and how. I really would like to think that I could do reasonably well. Not based on athleticism or intellect, but based on my imagination and extensive knowledge of criminal dramas.

May need to work on functionality with minimal sleep however as this morning I needed my Hunger Games Hangover kit:

Happy Hunger Games


may the odds be ever in your favor.

One Response to “#HungerGames Hangover”

  1. erinclot March 23, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

    I haven’t read them yet and I am kicking myself. My mom has the first book and I am getting it tomorrow. I have a feeling I will have them all by the end of the week.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers

