To My Son on His Fifth Birthday

7 Mar

Dear Bear,
How is it possibly that five years have flown by? When did you grow to be less of a little child and more a friend? Even at five I value your advice as deeply as those given by many much older than you. In fact often yours is more wise. For you do not understand the unfortunate dynamics of grown up life, but see life simply as it ought to be viewed. And I thank you. I thank you for being this wonderful little boy, who will grow up to be the best man.

I do not pat myself on the back as a job well done. Instead I acknowledge that this is simply your nature, a gift from the heavens to have a son that delights me every day. Sure, sometimes you rattled on and I must confess I tune you out or even wish you would be silent for just a moment. But it is your excitement. Your abounding joy, that makes you so special.

You see life as a gift and every moment as an opportunity. But more than that you love and feel so deeply. More than any child I have ever known. You love like I love. With every ounce of your blood and if that is the only thing you have learned from me, then I will pat myself on the back.

Your relationship with your little sister is one that constantly astonishes me. Being an only child, it is a bond I don’t readily understand. But you love her and care for her in a way that I wouldn’t have expected from a small child. It’s the unrequested hugs and kisses you give each other. The fact that you play with her without being asked. That you look out for her.

My heart melted when you fed her dinner because I was too sick to do so. Carefully placing each strawberry in her mouth and waiting until she finished before giving another. Your sense of responsibility when you say things to me like, “I’m going to the basement, you watch Bella now” is appreciated and surprising.

This past year has seen so much excitement. Your first time to Wisconsin Dells were you braved every water slide you were tall enough for. A whole summer of sports and activities. Your first hair cut.

Your current loves remain Bakugans and Scooby Doo. In fact you were Scooby Doo this past Halloween. You seem to devour every show on Cartoon Network, and still love to watch movies picking through a constantly growing collection. You no longer have a favorite movie that you watch repeatability like you once did.

You still seem to side with your dad as an advocate against vegetables and trying new foods, something that distresses me greatly. Trust me, as someone who married a person like that you don’t want to do that to your future spouse! Your favorite foods seem to be pizza and any sort of candy. You and your sister both seem to have the same sweet tooth as your dad. Speaking of teeth you lost your very first tooth days shy of your 5th birthday.

You have many friends and love them dearly. You speak of each of them often regaling us with stories of games you played. Sometimes, it pains me to hear, one of your friends isn’t particularly nice. Which hurts you as deeply as it hurts me. You look up at me and ask why would he do that, and sadly I have no answer to give you. A lesson I wish you weren’t already learning.

We had our first trip to Disney World this year, and you had no fear. Braving Splash Mountain again and again. You even went on the Tower of Terror twice which was something I even struggled to consider doing at all.

I love you so much and I hope you have the best birthday today and I’m excited for the big year ahead. You’ve already begun learning your sight words and are improving your handwriting. Now if only you just didn’t make your letters¬†so¬†big. Your very first day of kindergarten seems to be approaching at a rapid pace and I can’t wait for all the new adventures.

With all of my love,


6 Responses to “To My Son on His Fifth Birthday”

  1. The Simple Life of a Country Man's Wife March 7, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    what a sweet son you’re raising!

    • M March 7, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      Thank you :-)

  2. gojulesgo March 7, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Happy Birthday to Awesome Big Brother Bear!! He is so lucky to have you, and this letter to look back on when he’s older. I agree if you taught him how to love so fiercely and nothing else, you are both in good shape :)

    You take such wonderful pictures; the one where he’s on the chair outside and the sunlight is streaming over him is breathtaking. Do you mind me asking where that was taken?

    • M March 7, 2012 at 9:50 am #

      Thank you! Of course not! It was at Devil’s Lake in Wisconsin. Just outside of the Wisconsin Dells.

  3. Jonathan Stone March 7, 2012 at 10:54 am #

    Beautiful post. And Happy Birthday to the little guy!


  1. To My Son on His Sixth Birthday. | Lost and Forgotten - March 7, 2013

    […] letters: four and five Bella’s letters: one and […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers

