The Happiest Place on Earth

19 Jan

On Saturday I returned from a week long trip to the happiest place on earth and I’m still dreaming about it every night.

Yes, a week with my inlaws had many moments of awkward family drama, passive aggressiveness, and not nearly enough alcohol. However, it was still one of the best vacations I’ve ever had if not for the sheer delight on my children’s faces every day.

All Aboard

The flight and our hotel, the Beach Club.

Epcot: While there I ate by myself for the first time (in public) to which then a duck joined me and tried to steal the food out of my hand.

Magic Kingdom: I love on the left the before, during and after photos of Splash Mountain. That or Bella’s look of terror at meeting Eeoyre.

Animal Kingdom: My favorite park (and the kids). We saw lots of animals, rode lots of dinosaur rides and got very wet.

Hollywood Studios and Universal Studios: It rained while we were at Hollywood Studios so I didn’t get many photos but Bear rode the Tower of Terror TWO TIMES. The best was when we were discussing a third and he said, “”Here’s the thing. Personally I was not brave I was scared. I was pretending.” It was the funniest thing an almost five year old could say.

Other favorite moment was riding Jurassic Park four times and getting so wet it appeared as though we showered in our clothes. The last time The H and I were the only two in the front row.

It was great and I cannot wait to go back…. with my parents this time.


Linked with Memories Captured

12 Responses to “The Happiest Place on Earth”

  1. Alison@Mama Wants This January 19, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    What a fun vacation! Thanks for linking up with us.

  2. Galit Breen January 19, 2012 at 8:32 pm #

    So. Much. MAGIC! I love all of the fun and {what is sure to be} family memories made!

  3. Marisa January 20, 2012 at 11:08 am #

    Your photos are great – looks like you had a wonderful time! I’m glad your family liked Animal Kingdom. People undersell the park all the time and I think it’s really a hidden gem in the Disney collection.

    I leave tomorrow myself and can’t wait :)

    • Marta January 20, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

      I know I’ve heard people compare it to a zoo, and I’m like what kind of zoos are you going to? Its definitely my favorite park! I hope you have an amazing time, which I’m sure you will.

      P.S. I LOVE that you’re commenting now!

  4. Rima January 20, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

    We are going there later this winter (just the four of us). And the fact that you had fun gives me great hope that I will, too!

    • Marta January 20, 2012 at 1:38 pm #

      We LOVED it. You’re going to have an AMAZING time. I definitely have tips for you:
      1. Pay attention to Extra Magic Hours (available if you’re staying at the resorts). Each night one park is open later than usual. Try to go to that park that day. We didn’t and I wish we had.
      2. Eat at the same park you’re visiting that day! My MIL scheduled all the meals ahead of time (bc they book up) and we lost so much time to transportation between the park we were at and the park we were eating at.
      3. Allow extra time at Magic Kingdom. The lines are by far the longest and we didn’t get to go on a lot of things because we ran out of time.
      4. We did the Disney Dining Plan which was super convenient and provided more than enough food. I have no idea how expensive it was though bc my MIL paid!

  5. gojulesgo January 21, 2012 at 8:36 am #

    Welcome back!! SO glad you had such a good time (with some exceptions…). “Personally I was not brave.” Yes! That is hilarious. So cute.

    • M January 22, 2012 at 9:14 am #

      I know he says the most ridiculous things. I have no idea where he gets it from. I don’t feel like I talk like that!

  6. Deborah the Closet Monster January 21, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    So, so very close to my home, my work, and Ba.D.’s work, at different times!

    We don’t go to Universal as often as Disneyland, but I think Jurassic Park is my favorite part of trips there. I love that final steep drop, no matter how soaked we get. :D

    • M January 22, 2012 at 9:38 am #

      We were in FL not CA, if we were in the latter I would have definitely emailed you. Especially since everyone went to bed at 9:30p every night and I was still very much awake!

  7. Marinka January 22, 2012 at 8:55 am #

    Gorgeous. And fun! You all look so happy

    • M January 22, 2012 at 9:44 am #

      =) Thank you! It was great. Perhaps I should have included some photos of my son pouting just to mix it up a little.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers