Dreams Do Come True

30 Dec

On the Eve of Christmas Bella and Bear donned their elf pajamas and

we gathered round the Christmas Tree and read The Night Before Christmas.

On December 25th at 2am Bear awoke and saw that Santa had arrived, but went back to bed and waited patiently.

The table was set in the morning and a feast was had,

after which we tore into the presents:

When it was my turn it was not the necklace that I had asked for that was my favorite. It was a rectangular shaped box from my mother that had a card attached which read

As I tore into the package I realized what was inside despite my tear rimmed eyes.

At almost twenty-seven years old my mother got me the gift that I had always dreamed and ask for as a child.


This Christmas I learned dreams can come true for anyone at any age.


16 Responses to “Dreams Do Come True”

  1. Jamie H December 30, 2011 at 9:53 pm #

    You make me want to cry! I finally got my American Girl doll 2 years ago (at the age of 31). I bought Samantha for myself at a garage sale. She was used but in great shape and I knew I had to jump on her the minute I saw her. My dream came true that day and I have no regrets!

    • M December 30, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

      That’s adorable! (Samantha is the one I always wanted too, but they don’t make her anymore!).

      Clearly, American Girls are not something you grow out of. I can’t wait to give mine to my daughter when she’s old enough!

  2. lipstickconfidence December 30, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    I love this! Unfortunately, I completely tore apart my American Girl dolls as a child, I showed them wayyyy too much love (hair cut and all). I’m surprised my mom didn’t wring my neck because they are so expensive but I do wish I still had them.

    • Marta December 30, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

      =) I’m going to wait a while to give my daughter it for that reason. I just know she’s going to want it before she’ll take good care of it!

      (maybe next christmas you’ll get a new one)

  3. Beth December 30, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

    That is one of the sweetest Christmas stories I’ve ever heard. Good job, Mom!

    • Marta December 30, 2011 at 11:02 pm #

      I know it was adorable. Apparently she was nervous that I would think she was strange for getting an adult a doll, clearly I didn’t.

  4. Polish Mama on the Prairie December 30, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    Awww, how sweet! :) I’ll admit, I never heard of American Girl until just 4 years ago. I’m glad you had such a personally touching present. Wesolych Swiat and a Happy New Year!

    • M January 4, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

      Ah yes, Samantha was the one I always wanted but they don’t make her anymore. Are your girls asking you for one?

  5. annsrants December 31, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    I’m crying in the coffee shop. At least it wasn’t a Cabbage Patch doll.

    Happy New Year!

    • M January 4, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

      I happened to just read the chapter in Chelsea Handler’s book about her desires for a Cabbage Patch doll so that has entirely different meaning to me now =)

      Happy New Year Ann!

  6. OHmommy December 31, 2011 at 3:56 pm #

    My mom has the same penmanship. What a sweet present – happy holidays!

    • M January 4, 2012 at 2:18 pm #

      I can usually tell if someone’s Polish by their handwriting!

  7. gojulesgo January 2, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Shut up!! That is fabulous!!! (I always wanted Samantha myself, but never got her either!)

    I also cannot get over the adorable-ness of your kids and their PJs :o)

    Happy New Year, Marta!

    • M January 4, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

      They are awfully cute aren’t they? If I could have gotten me and the H the same pjs I would have!

  8. Rima January 2, 2012 at 11:18 am #

    Oh, I love that! Mothers are something else, aren’t they! Happy New Year, M!

    • M January 4, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

      =) I know my mother and I have the strangest relationship.

      Happy New Year Rima!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers