This is Halloween…

2 Nov

First, I recommend listening to Marilyn Manson’s remake of the Nightmare Before Christmas song “This is Halloween” as you read this:


Second, I’ve been excited to link up with Sellabit Mum and Four Plus an Angel‘s Boo! In the Blogosphere since I saw it.

I have to say I’m still of the age that I enjoy Halloween for it’s slutty attire and excessive consumption of liquor. I have an annual Halloween Party that is in fact all about that. Since last year I didn’t host one (though I would have) because The H said we can’t have a party with a one month old I wanted this year to be twice as big. It was in fact, one of the best. I’m not 100% sure it topped 2009’s Halloween Party which I may argue is still the best, but it was still damn good.

Here are some highlights from Halloween’s of years past:

In this process I discovered I have not one single photo from 2004. I also have no recollection of that Halloween. I remember something about peeing outside a frat party with 6 other girls. 2007 and 2010 I seem to not have celebrated Halloween. I also had children in those years — coincidence?

This year I had three different Halloween costumes. Minnie Mouse for a friend’s party, Black Swan for my party and a regular ballerina for The H’s show.

As for the children. Well look at how cute they are!

Bear apparently had no costume in 2009 and was in fact a tiger for two years. I loved the matchy-matchy costumes of last year, but I think that was likely the only year that was going to happen. Even though she’s crying in that particular photo, I love her ballerina costume this year! Bear’s awesome Scooby costume this year was courtesy of Is There Anymommy Out There? who was fabulous enough to ship me her old costume.

Now that Halloween has passed, I think I’m finally read for fall. I have to say I hadn’t completely transitioned from summer to fall, but I suppose now that its November and Target is fully decked out for Christmas I can accept the seasonal change.

11 Responses to “This is Halloween…”

  1. Yes I Said Minnesota November 2, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    You are too funny. The kids look great. Why is your little ballerina so sad?

    • Marta November 2, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

      I made the mistake of putting her in her costume before dinner, she understandably wanted to eat first. =)

  2. tracy November 2, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    I want to be invited to one of your parties.

  3. Greta @gfunkified November 2, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    Wow, you really know how to celebrate. :) Your kids are adorable!

  4. Rima November 2, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I think the Halloween photos with the kids crying their head off are the best.

    And it’s still summer as long as I can wear shoes without socks! Which I will continue to do until my toes freeze into tiny ice cubes and fall off.

    • M November 10, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

      As long as you don’t wear sandals with socks I think that is perfectly acceptable =)

  5. gojulesgo November 5, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Ahh this is fantastic! You look super-foxy in all years! The Black Swan costume is a great idea. And of course the kids look ADORABLE. I’ve gotta come to your party next year!

    • M November 10, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

      Um yes you do! If you find yourself Minnesota-bound come next Halloween I will most certainly welcome you whole heartily!


  1. Halloween Retrospective « Lost and Forgotten - November 7, 2012

    […] peek of Halloween’s Past: 2011 and […]

  2. Halloween Retrospective. | Oh My, Marta! - May 3, 2013

    […] peek of Halloween’s Past: 2011 and […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers