Chicago Recap

8 Aug

Two weeks ago we went to Chicago for the MOH’s bridal shower. This involved driving 7 hours with two children. I’m certain that I complained the most. Somehow six people survived in my parents two bedroom condo without central air. I was slightly convinced that their window units were trying to melt us, but we lived to tell another tale.

My favorite conversation was when we drove off the highway and the H asked what that sound was.

I listened, smiled, and said, “That’s the sound of summer — cicadas”

Things I learned while I was there:

  • Chicago moms are way thinner than Minnesota moms.
  • Always keep tampons on hand.
  • Never forget your camera.
  • I miss my friends terribly, completely, and am always depressed when I come back to Minnesota.

Written as a part of Shell’s Summer Fun Show Off. Link up your Summer Fun for a chance to win prizes from Ubisoft!


12 Responses to “Chicago Recap”

  1. shellthings August 8, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    I have those same feelings after visiting back home.

    Love the collage!

    • M August 9, 2011 at 8:21 am #

      I know its much easier to just not see them because when you do it makes you miss them so much more!

  2. Galit Breen August 8, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Beautiful collage!

    And yes, visiting old friends is bittersweet, for sure.

    • M August 9, 2011 at 8:21 am #

      Thanks! And yes, mostly certainly it is.

  3. JamieAnne August 8, 2011 at 4:33 pm #

    Beautiful pictures!

    • M August 9, 2011 at 8:20 am #

      Thank you!

  4. Angie August 9, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    Beautiful pictures!

    I know exactly what you mean about visiting old friends. Makes you miss them even more.

    • M August 9, 2011 at 8:20 am #

      I know, its almost easier to just not see them!

  5. Deborah the Closet Monster August 10, 2011 at 12:08 am #

    On the Chicago/Minnesota mom distinction? Same for Los Angeles/Oregon. :) I’m a month from revisiting this contrast again. For three days, I will be the norm!

    • M August 10, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

      I think its almost easier not to visit. It makes it so much harder to leave again! Also, despite the fact that I miss home I also want to move even further away to California because I love warm weather and have no idea why in the world I live in Minnesota.

  6. Adrienne (@AdrienneSFTS) August 15, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    I probably would have done most of the complaining too. Long car trips kill me! Loved the collage, and the list of things you learned was a great touch! Stopped by from Shell’s Summer Show Off. :)

    • M August 16, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

      Thanks! I am so much better on car trips if I’m driving I think. I’m not a good passenger!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers