Listography – Favorite Kids Movies

2 Aug

This week’s Listography from Kate Takes 5 is favorite kids movies. This is a tough one. Mostly because I’ve seen so many kids movies so many times that I’ve ceased to like them them quite as much and simultaneously because there are WAY more than 5 kids movies that I love.

  1. Beauty and the Beast: Was my favorite movie growing up. I loved the songs, the beauty of France, the courage of Belle.
  2. Ratatouille: I love how he describes food, how he tries to show his friends what non garbage tastes like.
  3. Megamind:   This was the first movie that I was really excited when it was going to come out in theaters with Bear. We had seen commercials for it and we anxiously awaited  it to come out. At the ZooBoo we got Megamind masks, at McDonalds there were happy meal toys. I was so hyped up about it and I didn’t think the movie disappointed.
  4. Nightmare before Christmas: This was Bear’s favorite movie for a long time. It goes with his love of Halloween. I grew to love it too. The music, the creepiness of it, the imagination.
  5. 101 Dalmatians: An oldie, but a goodie. I have always loved animals and on some level want to believe that there is an all dog alert out there when dogs go missing.

Shout Outs to: Little Mermaid, Lion King, Finding Nemo, Monsters Inc, The Incredibles, and Lady & the Tramp and probably a million other Disney/Pixar movies I’m forgetting. I specifically did not list Harry Potter because I don’t consider it a kids movie despite the fact that Bear has actually seen all of them. He’s seen Law and Order too but I don’t consider that a kid show either.

10 Responses to “Listography – Favorite Kids Movies”

  1. Nicole Jade August 2, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    I love Megamind, my son will watch that over and over. Also, Despicable Me is so cute too! It is hard to list them all, so many great kids movies. I agree Harry Potter is not a kids movie. Just because it is a cartoon or has kids in the show or the word “Family” in the title, does not mean it is approriate for kids. (tell that to my husband when he tries to watch Family Guy in front of our kids)

    “Toliet Training Blues” –

    • M August 2, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

      Despicable Me was quite funny. We have that one, but its not in our regular repertoire. My son’s discovered “On Demand” so we’re watching Cartoon Network shows instead of movies (which I could do without).

  2. Five Go Blogging August 2, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    Popping off to amazon to order a copy of Megamind, I just KNOW that my 6 year old would go mad for it! Thanks for your list x

    • M August 3, 2011 at 8:11 am #

      I actually bought Megamind at Target when it was on sale at some point and have been holding onto it for Xmas since like June! :-)

  3. The Kitchen Mechanic August 2, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Great movies, I’d forgotten all about Ratatouille… great list

    • M August 3, 2011 at 8:12 am #

      Thanks :-)

  4. Donna@MummyCentral August 3, 2011 at 3:29 am #

    Haven’t seen three of these, and feel I’ve got some catching up to do. Love Beauty and the Beast and 101 Dalmations though. So many great kids films – isn’t it really hard to choose just five?

    • M August 3, 2011 at 8:12 am #

      Yes! I could probably keep thinking of more and more, I stuck to animated ones but there are lots of great family movies like Home Alone that I didn’t even think about!

  5. Kate Takes 5 August 3, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

    Oo look at you with your clever picture! Great list – keep meaning to see Megamind but haven’t got there yet (though cant say it without saying mega mega mega mind – why is that?)

    • M August 3, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

      Ha, I felt clever when I did it too!

      I always say MEGGGGGGGGGGA-Mind for whatever strange reason.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers