Listography: Favorite Ice Creams

9 Jul

This post is written for Kate Takes 5: Listography
Its the blissfully warm humid sweaty months of summer which I love and outside of swimming pools and beaches the best part of summer is definitely ice cream. I used to love hearing the ice cream truck come down my friend’s streets and we would run out and chase him in hopes we have some spare change to pull together for an ice cream cone. It was one of my favorite parts of summer. Now I just need to remember to actually have cash at home so my kids will have those memories, unless the ice cream truck has been updated and accepts credit nowadays.

1. Trix Popsicles  Any of my childhood friends can tell you that I used to be obsessed with Trix Pops. I mean we stocked the freezer full of them and I had at least one every single day. I loved them. Still to this day, I would request this as a part of my last meal. Sadly, at some point in the late 90s they stopped making them. Which made me very very sad. In fact just thinking about it now makes me kind of sad.

2. Haagen Dasz This is still my favorite ice cream in fact, I just finished my box and need to go refill my stock. My mom and I always had this growing up and Bella’s first non baby food item was in fact a lick of the vanilla part. I just love them. Magnum which seems to be the latest thing is pretty good, I’d even argue that their chocolate is slightly better, but I hate the vanilla inside the Magnum which makes Haagen Dasz still the ultimate and favorite.

3. Coldstone Like It Lemon Sorbet with Gummy Bears. I’ve tried other things at Coldstone but have long settled that this is my favorite thing. Bear has the same thing when we go. In the summer they have country time pink lemonade sorbet, but if they have neither than I don’t get anything.

4. ein kugel zitrone: When I was Munich, Germany visiting my relatives for summer vacation while I was a middle schooler I would take the U-Bahn to the Pep (a mall) every single day while my Aunt & Uncle were at work and my cousin in school. At the pep I would order ein kugel zitrone (scoop of lemon), it was one of the VERY few German words I knew. I’ve been staring at the map which looks quite familiar trying to recall my exit, but I can’t seem to find it. Upon googling I discovered it was the Neuperlach-Zentrum. I also realize now as a parent that I was basically an 11 year old taking the subway by myself, not knowing the language, in a foreign country on a daily basis. Times sure have changed.

5. Mint Chocolate Chip or Chocolate Chip: If I’m going for non bar non ice cream parlor ice cream than I always get either mint chocolate chip or regular chocolate chip ice cream at the grocery store. Unfortunately I never remember which brand I like, I know I like my mint to be green and my chocolate chips to be whole and not crushed, but its always pretty hit or miss.

2 Responses to “Listography: Favorite Ice Creams”

  1. Zoe_Paige July 9, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

    Yum, all these look so good! I liked your story about living in Germany…and yes times have definitely changes no matter where you’re living! That Haagan Dazs looks like it could possibly just as good, if not better than the Magnum….!!

  2. Gemma @ My Big Nutshell July 10, 2011 at 6:08 am #

    Yep I am with you on the mint choc chip, green and whole. That german caper sounds like good times. lemon is so yum too.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers