Top 10 TV Shows that Should Make a Comeback

7 Jul

Written for Mama Kat’s Writers Workshop:

I watched a lot of Nick at Nite as a kid, which now shows Full House and Fresh Prince of Bel-Air which I wouldn’t put in the same category as Mary Tyler Moore or Newhart. The shows I watched with my parents growing up probably wouldn’t be considered family shows. In fact many times as a teenager and adult I’ve watched re-runs and thought to myself, “I used to watch this as a kid? How did I even know what I was laughing at?” Clearly my parents thought I had a sophisticated mind and could handle Must See TV. Probably, why I let Bear watch a lot of grown up TV shows with us. His favorite by far is Silly Friends, he thinks that Friends has the word Silly in front of it and I don’t correct him because its cute. He laughs at the appropriate moments … with the laugh track. He often tells me he likes Rachel’s outfit, and minus the 90s belly button grazing shirts I tend to agree.

1. Sisters: I remember watching this with my mom and loving this show. In fact they shoudl really syndicate or put this show on DVD I’d love to rewatch it now as an adult. Also, most of the cast is now pretty well known (Paul Rudd, George Clooney, Ashley Judd) and my love of Sela Ward stems from this show.





2. Mad About You: Who didn’t love Paul, Jamie and their adorable dog Murray? This was back when Must See TV Thursday was actually something I watched. The sitcoms of the 90s were so much better than those of today.










3. Seinfeld: I watched this show with my parents since it aired in 1990 on NBC when I was five. And I watched and laughed with it until it ended nine years later. Seinfeld is still hilarious in my mind, and so very quotable and relatable. I can’t ever say “Heeelllllllllllllo” without thinking of the talking stomach. I once briefly parked in a handicap spot and all I could think of was the woman in the wheel chair unable to stop rolling. At work we always have a Festivus pole at our holiday party. I wonder what Seinfeld could be like in the modern age when people had cell phones and could actually reach one another? Imagine George tweeting? Certainly a Rep. Weiner mishap would happen.





4. Married with Children: I loved this show and for whatever reason Ed Bundy has always reminded me of my dad. Not the character but the actor. The H tells me I’m crazy as they look nothing alike. There’s just something about him. Also, in the fifth grade for class everyone wrote a letter to a TV show they liked. Most kids wrote to kid shows. I wrote to Married with Children. Sadly, I never got a signed photo like everyone else did. Perhaps they were weirded out by a 5th grader writing to them.








5. Friends : Is my ultimate favorite show. I have no idea how many times I’ve watched through the entire 10 seasons, but its many. In fact if I’m ever grumpy Bear knows that its time to turn on Silly Friends to make me happy. The Dr. of Ops and I constantly quote friends references, even more frequently than Seinfeld.







6. I Love Lucy : Was my favorite from my Nick at Nite watching days. In fact once a friend and I tried to fill my parents shower with water just like in the one I Love Lucy epsiode so we could go swimming. Instead we flooded the two apartment bathrooms below us into the basement garage. I tried to deny that it happened, but we left waterproof cards in the shower where we were playing while we waited for it to fill up!








7. Dragnet and Get Smart: I think this is where my love of cop shows comes from. Also, who wouldn’t love a talking phone. Clearly they were onto something before the advent of cell phones.







8. Ren and Stimpy: I watched every Sunday morning with my dad. I had Ren & Stimpy stuffed animals, cups, shirts, christmas cd and calendars. I’m not sure who liked the show more me or my dad.







9. Clarissa Explains it All: I wanted to be just like Melissa Joan Hart, who didn’t? She wore the most awesome clothes, had a hot neighbor guy climbing in her window every night and a pet alligator!







10. Secret World of Alex Mack: A girl who can turn into a puddle and solve mysteries is obviously someone I want to get behind.










**Edit: I just recalled so many recent shows I forgot about like LOST, Heroes, Law and Order and an older but favorite one Freaks & Geeks. **

9 Responses to “Top 10 TV Shows that Should Make a Comeback”

  1. Morgan Kellum July 7, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    Loved “Mad About You” … I was just talking about this show yesterday.

    Visiting from Mama Kat’s :)

  2. Classic NYer July 7, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    You know what? “Silly Friends” totally makes sense to me now that you mention it. Bear is very astute.

    Came by from Mama Kat’s.

    • M July 7, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

      I know I like it too, I find myself almost calling it that in public =)

  3. Lex July 7, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Yeah, it would be nice if we could clone Lucille Ball, because no one could ever replace her! I Love Lucy is & always will be a gem!

    It would be fun to see a comeback of Get Smart.

    I have seen Mad About You on a couple of lists. I watched it, too. I was never (and still I’m not) a fan of Helen Hunt. I can appreciate her acting talent, I’m just not a fan of her. But the show was great!

  4. Dana K July 7, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Sisters was a great show! That would definitely make it on my list of honorable mentions. I don’t really know why they cancelled it.

  5. Dianna July 7, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

    Visiting from Mama Kat’s, where I also chose this prompt. I agree with some of your choices, but wasn’t familiar with a couple of them!

  6. Cam - Bibs & Baubles July 7, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    Loved Mad About You and Married with Children!!

  7. Angela July 9, 2011 at 7:45 am #

    I loved Clarissa! She did have great clothes and seemed way more independent that most kids that age.

    And Sisters! I remember when George Clooney got blown up in the car! So sad. He had great chemistry with Sela Ward.

    • M July 9, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      I know, I’d really love to see Sisters again! I have such vague memories of it.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers