Top 5 Things that Went Wrong Today

5 Jul

Today wasn’t the greatest day and here are the top five reasons why:

5. Exhaustion: Bella did not sleep well last night. I feel like the whole night was a strange daze where I had no idea how long I had been sleeping, if I was sleeping or if I was awake, if she was crying or if I was dreaming. All I know is that I was super drowsy driving to work and slow blinked way too often on 94.







4. Old Angry Republican Men: After having received the call that I dreaded I had to leave work yet again to pick up my sick kid from daycare. While driving from the daycare to the after hours clinic since I couldn’t get an appointment I was stopped at a red light waiting to turn left. I took out my phone to check my email and an old man in a minivan pulled alongside me and started honking. So I rolled my window down and all I could catch from his rant at me was this is why you support Obama. Because I use a cell phone at a red light? Because I drive a Subaru with two car seats? Because I also have a UMN and MN Zoo sticker? WTF?





3. Pediatricians that don’t like people: After my encounter with the grouchy old man I encountered another grouchy (slightly younger but still old) man who was our pediatrician at the after hours clinic. Most doctors who see children usually like them.  They smile at them, make silly talk, try to distract them during the examination. This guy couldn’t have been less interested if he tried. When the exam was over I wasn’t even sure if it was or not because he just walked out. I was left holding the baby and the prescription with a confused look on my face. He barely talked to us, never actually said what was wrong (except for an ear infection), he didn’t explain what he was prescribing or instructions for using it, and he couldn’t even be bothered to send my prescription to the pharmacy like every other doctor does. When I actually went to the pharmacy I then had to wait 20 minutes for it to be filled (which since it was Target wasn’t exactly punishment) but then when I went to pick up the ear infection medicine and eye ointment the pharmacist told me the ointment was $50. FIFTY DOLLARS. No thank you, I can wipe her eye with a wet washcloth for free. The Pharmacist had to call the doctor’s office to see if they’d prescribe generic drops instead. Which he did, an hour later, when I had to come back for them. Luckily they cost $4 and I picked up some double stuf oreos while I was there. As well as all this sick loot.

2. Mosquito Bites: Last night I had the H count all the mosquito bites I got from the lake this weekend. He counted EIGHTY-THREE. That’s right 8-3. Almost 100. I was honestly concerned yesterday at the pool that they wouldn’t let me in because it looks like I have the pox. I wanted to draw a picture in paint, but I’m at  home and my computer is too ancient to have a functioning paint so I had to subject you to copious amounts of unclothed leg. There are 13 mosquito bites on this side of my one leg alone. Its awful. I’m always itching and since I’m walking and sitting I’m inadvertently touching most of them all the time. I will be taking Benadryl tonight and rubbing myself down with Eucerin anti-itch lotion since the entire tube of hydrocortisone cream I’ve put on hasn’t really helped.


1. Casey Anthony Verdict: Granted I haven’t paid any attention to this trial except what I’ve pieced together from twitter, but I am floored that she could have possibly been acquitted. From what I gathered this was an open and shut case. I’m not going to lie and say there aren’t pictures of me like this in the world. Or that I wasn’t a mother at the time they were taken. Here’s the major difference: I knew where my kid was at the time and I knew he was safe. I didn’t think that maybe he was off somewhere with Zanny the Nanny (which couldn’t be a faker sounding name) nor had I killed him so I could go off and get drunk with my friends. That’s the big difference. There’s nothing wrong with being young and having fun even if you’re a mom. But you don’t wait 31 days to tell the police your kid is missing meanwhile partying if you hadn’t been the one to kill your child and thus not really care about their whereabouts. That to me proved her guilt without needing to hear anything else.

2 Responses to “Top 5 Things that Went Wrong Today”

  1. Mango July 6, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    Hilarious! Just one of those days!

  2. Emily July 15, 2011 at 2:01 am #

    Great points and great photos! Yeah, I too seem to have the Casey Anthony case flown right over my head, and I am usually I am pretty up on these things.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers