Me vs. The Helicopter Parents

30 Jun

I really dislike helicopter parenting. It’s so contrary to my own parenting style that it grates on me when I see my MIL and worse the H leaning towards this style of parenting. I get that we often parent how we were parented and clearly the H was stifled by his overbearing mother, but loosen up! I feel no need to watch every single step my children take.

1. I often leave Bella in her baby proofed room with some toys and SHOCK walk away.









2. I let Bear play in my fenced in yard, outside, BY HIMSELF.









3. When they cough or sneeze I don’t take them to the doctor because I don’t need to pay someone $35 to tell me that they need rest and liquids. Me and google can figure that out for free.











4. I take my kids to the playground, where there are germs and other children and the possibility of a concussion. BECAUSE ITS A PLAYGROUND not a minefield last I checked.







5. The H doesn’t like when the kids get messy. He won’t let them play arts and crafts and he doesn’t like when they eat spaghetti. They’re kids the more messy the better I say!









Also, if you can’t tell I recently discovered the gloriousness of paint and am amusing myself with pictures. Oddly enough my first foray into paint was before my discovery of a blog dedicated to ridiculous pictures such as my own. If you like mine you’ll probably like hers better. Clearly we’re brothers from another mother.

Written for Mama Kat’s Writers Workshop, go read some other great posts!

11 Responses to “Me vs. The Helicopter Parents”

  1. Rebekah June 30, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    Can I get an amen!! Sweet lord above I have two boys! I only worry when it’s quiet or I hear one of them say “Dude, don’t tell Mom!”

    Stopping by from Mama Kats

  2. incessantme June 30, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    wow so sweet depictions…i love colours and loved the simplicity and sweetness of this post..nice read :) Have a great day !

  3. A Better Balance June 30, 2011 at 9:55 am #


    I am not a helicopter parent, and I wasn’t brought up by them either. Once I called in to work because my son was threw up. The next day I was asked “what did the doctor say?” I was baffled. He threw up- ONCE- no point for a doctor. All the ped. would say is “it’s a stomach bug- he needs rest and some toast” and I knew that already!

  4. christina June 30, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    heh, i LOVE paint drawings. : ) oh and big old scary germ infested playgrounds, too.

  5. mryjhnsn June 30, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    Great post and I love the pictures!

  6. Kristin_OPC June 30, 2011 at 1:14 pm #

    While the idea of letting kids use finger paint, Moon Sand, and Play-Doh in the house makes me twitchy, I’m with you on hovering! As much as I love my kids, I don’t want to be all up in their business. That requires too much energy.

  7. Kate June 30, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    I could have sworn on all things good & holy that I was going to be a helicopter parent. And then, I became a mom & I am soooo laid back! That’s what people always tell me, is they can’t believe how laid back I am. Me? I see no reason in hovering or not letting them do things because they might get messy. I have a friend who won’t take her child out in the winter (not even to grocery shop) because they MIGHT get a cold!

    Found you through another blog, can’t remember which one though!

    Loved your pics too!

  8. tracy June 30, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    The most beautiful thing in the world is when your kid learns to pump their legs on the swing and your ass doesn’t have to leave the playground bench the whole.dang.time. Brilliant.

  9. a dreamer's wife July 7, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    My husband is just like your husband in regards to the whole “mess” thing! I’m the one that usually is going to clean it up anyway, so what’s the big deal?! :)

  10. Anonymous August 10, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    I love #3 and #5 so true! Your pics are great, what a great post and I have never heard of the name “helicopter parenting” where have I been, lol!

    • M August 10, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

      Lol, Thanks! It so perfectly describes my inlaws I’m surprised there’s not a photo of them in the wiki definition of helicopter parents.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers