One Day I Will Get to Bora Bora

23 Jun

Look at this photo and tell me what crazy person wouldn’t want to go here?

My dream vacation is to go to the Le Meridian in Bora Bora and stay in an over the water bungalow. It’s a place I’ve always wanted to visit.

When the H and I first got engaged in February of 2006 I got very quickly overwhelmed by the multitude of choices and COST of a wedding. I very quickly realized that neither or us could remotely pay for a wedding considering you know we were both in school and only working part time. My parents didn’t have the money to pay for anything and we weren’t keen to ask the H’s parents to pony up. So I started thinking let’s have a small shindig BBQ at his parents house and have a ceremony and mostly honeymoon abroad. Win! Win!

First, I started looking into the usual suspects the Caribbean, Mexico, etc. We had a travel agent looking into this for us too and I was emailing zillions of contacts for various hotels. But you know what? That was expensive too. So then I thought screw it all, let’s have the BBQ wedding and spend all of our money on a honeymoon! In Bora Bora! In an overwater bungalow! With glass floors!

But then came July and I got knocked up due to a friend’s congratulatory you got into the Carlson School of Business party that had a lot of drinking, and a lot of rain and I was wet and drunk and couldn’t be bothered to go inside and use protection and it will be okay just this one time. Let me tell you kids, its not okay, not even this one time. Listen to me. I’ve been knocked up twice on the first try (once by mistake and once on purpose) it CAN happen to you. And it probably will.

New plan is to go to Bora Bora for a 20th wedding anniversary in 2026.

This post is a part of Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop check out the other posts and link yours up!

11 Responses to “One Day I Will Get to Bora Bora”

  1. Lindsey June 23, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    I just HAD to read this post and I’m so glad I did. You WILL get there one day. Hubby and I had a VERY small wedding in order to splurge on our Honeymoon and guess where we went?!

    Bora Bora and stayed at the Le Meridian! What a small world!? Well, we stayed 3 nights in Tahiti, 3 nighs in Moorea, and our last 3 nights were the major splurge… overwater bungalow in Bora Bora! I promise you, their pictures are absolutely real and our pictures are just as beautiful!

    Here’s a link to one of mine. {I need to blog about the experience more!}

    • Marta June 23, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

      YES! You need to blog and post more photos of it. I can’t believe you stayed there — was it overwhelmingly amazing?

      Also, congrats on the pregnancy! I read the about you section of your blog!

  2. Patrice P June 23, 2011 at 4:13 pm #

    Another place I would like to visit! Visiting from Mama Kat’s.

  3. Cam - Bibs & Baubles June 23, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    HA! I love the drawing! Totally PSA worthy. I really want to go to Bora Bora too. It’s just beautiful!

    • Marta June 23, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

      Lol, thanks. I discovered paint has gotten an update in the latest OS update and so I was experimenting with different brush styles. I think I’ll have to do more drawings in the future =)

  4. Nicole June 23, 2011 at 4:38 pm #

    Your drawing was my favorite part. If you do the planning you will get to Bora Bora.

  5. jackie June 23, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    OMG, Bora Bora!!! Yes, that is definitely on my list. My husband and I looked at it for our honeymoon too, but it WAS super expensive! We will get there eventually.

  6. A Better Balance June 24, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    Are you sure you weren’t seperated from a twin at birth? Because I seriously think we are the same person sometimes.

    We didn’t have a honeymoon either. Also because “just one time” couldn’t hurt anything. Oops! :-) Bora Bora looks lovely, I hope you get to have your honeymoon! The Husband and I are hoping to do something similar next year (for our ten year anniversary) but I’m thinking we might have to wait until year 15 or 20 too.

    • Marta June 24, 2011 at 11:45 am #

      =) Unlikely… were you born in Poland?

      We had a belated honeymoon in Mexico in December 2009, we were hoping to go back for our 5 year anniversary this December but I don’t think its going to happen. Prices have doubled since ’09!

  7. Sandra June 25, 2011 at 6:14 pm #

    So funny! I also have a dream vacation I’m waiting to go on. I’m thinking we may be in Bora Bora at the same time. Wanna meet and have a drink?

    • M June 27, 2011 at 8:36 am #

      I’m totally there!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers