The Un-Cuddly Baby

14 Jun

I”m a very cuddly person. In fact, we are in general a very cuddly family. Or smuggly as we like to call ourselves finding snuggle to not be a particularly inviting word we much rather smuggle. In fact under cover smuggles are our favorite.

Our dog, Athens, is cuddly. In fact he can’t even bear to lay on a wooden floor like a real dog, but instead prefers ideally laying on pillows also undercovers.

At first Elia wasn’t particularly into this whole human cuddling in a bed thing, but she saw Athens was living the good life and so she jumped aboard as well. For a long time we had two dogs undercover in the bed with us. Then we had to institute the “no dogs allowed” policy because it had gotten a little bit ridiculous.

Bear has always been a cuddly fellow. We would swaddle him when he was a baby because he loved the feeling of being tightly held. His absolute favorite thing was what we called frogging. He probably spent my entire maternity leave laying on top of me frogging while I watched daytime TV.

He still loves to cuddle in fact he sneaks into our bed every single night and sleeps with us. We basically say good night by saying, “we’ll see you when you sneak in.” I heart his cuddles big time which is why I’m in no hurry to ask him to remove himself as my nightly visitor. In fact I used to think Athens was the best cuddler as he can contort himself into seemingly any position, but I think Bears got it covered now as #1 Cuddler.When the H is out of town I don’t even make him fall asleep in his own bed first, but let him stay in mine from the get go.

But Bella, not so much. She has no interest in these kinds of things. She had no time for swaddling as a baby, she preferred to cuddle her face suffocatingly close to her blanket. While we read Bear books every single night before bed (we had the bedtime routine thing down cold), Bella will not sit still long enough to read her the shortest of books. Rocking her to sleep? I don’t think so. The closest I’ve gotten to cuddling is when she was a baby and she’d fall asleep next to me nursing in the wee hours of the morning when the H would bring her before he left for work. Now even nursing is an opportunity for her to practice various circus acts of how to keep moving while still being attached to me.

She was very adamant that she was not interested in napping yesterday afternoon. She did however not want to play. Or eat. Certainly not be rocked, or read to. I tried singing her a lullaby, but she took her nuk out of her mouth and stuck it in mine. I thought that was a little rude as she could have been more tactful in her preferences.

I really hope she outgrows this I don’t like to cuddle thing because she’s not going to fit in very well with the family otherwise.

5 Responses to “The Un-Cuddly Baby”

  1. Michael June 14, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    The pic of your hubby and baby is TOO ADORABLE!!

    • M June 15, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      I know its super cute. Bear was so little!

      Sidenote: The H was very, “why are you posting a photo of my nipple?” I mentioned to him that no one would be looking at his nipple, they’d be focused on the adorable baby!

  2. A Better Balance June 14, 2011 at 9:51 pm #

    This is too funny to me. The Boy was our cuddler, he still climbs up next to me sometimes to cuddle. The Girl never liked it! She didn’t want to be rocked to sleep, never wanted to sleep in our bed. It was so strange.

    • M June 15, 2011 at 9:35 am #

      Isn’t that so strange! You’d always assume the girl is more cuddly, but not true!


  1. Bye Bye Rabbit « Lost and Forgotten - June 21, 2011

    […] post, so move along to different posts for some family friendly mommy bloggy reading. Like this one about how my daughter doesn’t like to […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers