Finding his Inner Athlete

20 May

Last night Bear had his second teeball practice. It went okay. I’m being generous with my okay. I’ve always assumed Bear would be athletic. He would do wild and crazy gymnastics in my belly, he rolled over at 2 weeks and walked at almost 10 months. His gross motor skills have always been excellent. Both the H and I are athletically inclined. Notice, I say I’m athletically inclined not capable, that is a big distinction. The H could be more athletic barring a major accident he suffered in the 8th grade that ruined his athletic “career” (a car ran into his house and the roof collapsed on him). I’m cognizant of the fact that he’s only had 2 teeball classes and that he’s only 4 years old. However, a lot of the kids his age in his teeball class are much more capable and interested than he is. Which is disappointing.

He’s taking swimming, soccer and tennis this summer as well, so perhaps one of the other sports will interest him more, but teeball really isn’t doing it.

I blame the H.

Who also, was a terrible sideline parent constantly calling out to Bear during practice. Mostly telling him to listen and run and essentially look alive. It embarrassingly reminded me of gym class in middle school when kids in the outfield would be creating daisy chains in the grass. He was only slightly better than that.

To Bear’s defense: The H (nor I) have ever watched baseball with him (minus the Twins game we went to last year) or played teeball with him. So he has no reason to know what he’s doing or to care. It’s clear that the other kids have been much more exposed to these things.

Still there’s the inherent natural capability and coordination that I feel like he’s lacking. Reminds me of the fact that he couldn’t actually hop on one foot during his kindergarten assessment. =/

I blame well myself and mostly TV. Bear is way more interested in watching Bakugan or playing Bakugan than most other things. In fact when he poorly throws the baseball at the H he does it while yelling, “Bakugan Brawl!”  He also likes to have us all call him Scooby and I’m Shaggy, The H is Fred, Bella is Daphne, Athens is Scrappy and Elia is Velma. Even when he’s playing its related to TV.

I feel embarrassed to say it, but I really want him to be athletic. I don’t like the concept of him growing up to be a nerdy guy! Mostly, as I’m sure every mother wants I want him to be good at everything. I want him to be athletic, smart, creative, outgoing and generous. Who doesn’t?

I know guys who watch anime and play games like Bakugan (though the grown up versions would be more like Dungeons and Dragons or Magic). I’m friends with guys like that. That’s not who I want Bear to be. Obviously, Bear will choose his own interests regardless of my opinions, but I can still pout about it.

4 Responses to “Finding his Inner Athlete”

  1. Tesa Nicolanti May 20, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    I can understand wanting your child to grow up athletic. Both my husband and I played sports throughout high school and into college – so it’s tough for us too. So far both our kids seem to enjoy sports, but I’ve thought about what it would be like if they didn’t. I decided as long as they find something they love and have a passion for then I’ll be happy.

  2. Mark May 20, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Play catch with your son. Try not to instruct him too much while you’re doing this. Just focus on having fun. That will help him develop his coordination without souring him on the game.

    You are doing a good thing by having him try a variety of activities, so keep that up as well. Whether it’s T-ball or something else, he’ll find something he likes.

  3. Derek May 26, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Noooooooooooo, video games and CCGs FTW! =]

    A kid can be active without playing organized sports, you know. I used to play outside with my friends all the time, but I had no real interest in playing a team sport.

    • M May 26, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

      Yeah that’s definitely true. And he does like to run around playing monster, pirates, Scooby Doo, etc.

      He’s loving swim class, so maybe baseball just isn’t his thing. We’ll see how he feels about soccer and tennis later in the summer!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers