Worst Way to Spend Friday Night Ever

29 Apr

I am so angry I’m practically shaking. I’m moments away for a full body pummel of my bed. I’m talking fists, kicking, thrashing and screaming.

Why so mad?

For Bella’s baptism I received what I deem the worst gift ever: The Hallmark Hand Print Kit. I find it unlikely that if I had a helper it would have gone any better. But I did in fact decide to do this alone as the H is camping for the weekend and Bear was taking what seemed like the world’s longest nap.

It started out fine. She was happily sitting as I mixed the plaster to the desire toothpaste consistency. Then came the hard part, how the fuck do you get a six month old to stick their hand in some plaster to make a successful mold? You don’t. At all. In any remote capacity. Nor their foot.

What you do get is two people, their clothes and a kitchen floor completely covered in plaster and a metal tin that now has hardened plaster and absolutely no print. One of them is crying uncontrollably and the other one is barely holding it together.

It was the most trying 15 minutes I have experienced in a long time. There was plaster everywhere. All over the floor (which by the way is hard to remove), my pants, my hands and arms, Bella’s face, hands, arms, foot and clothes. There may have been more plaster on then left in the tin.

I scrapped the hardened plaster out with a knife, not an easy task in and of itself. Just in case I one day feel masochistic enough to spend the extra $5 for them to send me some more plaster, because they know that there’s no way you’re going to be able to do it the first time.

As they say on the back of the box:

“We also understand that it is difficult sometimes for a child to cooperate in making a handprint.”

Understatement of the year.

5 Responses to “Worst Way to Spend Friday Night Ever”

  1. Mikey R April 30, 2011 at 6:15 am #

    That is why when I received the plaster kit for an occasion- I stuck it in a closet and I either re-gifted it or sold it at a yard yard sale. I don’t really recall what become of the little abomination. I did not however have to deal with it. I’m sorry it went so horribly for you. You are much braver then I was.

  2. MummyinProvence May 6, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Sorry but this made me laugh!!!! I was annoyed that I didn’t get the plaster kit which was on my registry but now I am glad I didn’t get it!!! I have the task of pinning BiP down to get her 1 yr hand and foot print for her baby book this week … I have been putting it off since the last time I did it she was 5 weeks old and did NOT want to open her fist. Now she is walking I have to fear pink footprints across my white tiled house! Will keep you posted!

    • M May 8, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

      I think it might be a cute thing to do with an older child. I should have tried it with my 4 year old not my baby! I need to do the prints for my baby book too.. .I’m going to wait until she’s asleep one day.

  3. Dez May 18, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    There’s a Youtube video in here somewhere that you missed an opportunity for.

    • M May 19, 2011 at 8:48 am #

      Its at least a missed photo op!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers