Husband #FAIL

19 Apr

As if my day couldn’t have gotten worse: I picked the kids up from daycare and was informed by the teacher that she just took Bear’s temp and it was 102, he was lethargic and sensitive all afternoon. Just great! Two sick kids!

I get home and am telling Bear that I had a bad day too. My boss was mean to me again. I explain in a nutshell to the H what prof said to me (that I cut corners and am unprofessional, he’s lost trust in me). The H’s response: Is there any credence to that? My response: What does that mean? The H: Well, do you cut corners?

I thought I was going to punch him right in the face. Instead I took Bear whom I was carrying in my arms this whole time and locked ourselves in the bathroom under the pretense I was taking his temperature. Which I did, it was 101.5.

Are you fucking kidding me? As I explained to the H in a huffy tone as I was getting ready to walk out the door (luckily Bear wanted yogurt for dinner which we needed to buy at the store) that it would not have occurred to anyone to ask me that because no one who knows me or the Prof would think there was any accuracy to that statement. That I’m so happy that he knows me so well and has so much faith in my professional abilities. He kept trying to say that he wanted to know if there was any justification to Prof’s response. But that’s precisely the point. How could he think there was any justification?

I’m too tired to be livid. I’m so drained that I can’t even properly have this argument.

We just got back from the store and I told him I have to pump because I was so busy cutting corners today I only got to do it once.

Yes, I am overwhelmingly passive aggressive.

3 Responses to “Husband #FAIL”

  1. Mominreality April 19, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Wow. Sometimes…
    You are not alone. Hope your week starts looking up soon.

  2. Mark April 20, 2011 at 12:58 am #

    Hey M, just wanted to throw in my two cents. I think it’s acceptable for H to ask that, because I would do it in the same situation with an SO. And here’s why:

    Let’s say you actually DO sometimes cut corners. Sometimes, if it’s someone you hate telling you this (the prof), you’re going to tell yourself repeatedly that this isn’t an issue and will do everything you can to ignore a legitimate weakness. With someone you love asking you it, you have a better chance of reflecting on it and improving on it if it’s an actual weakness. But, I don’t think this is why H really asked this.

    Here’s why I think he was asking it (I could be wrong): You say, there is no credence to it, I do a great job and do not cut corners. H responds: Good, keep doing what you’re doing then, if the prof doesn’t see it then it’s all on him. All you can do is keep doing what you’re doing. I love and support your hard work! Etc, etc.

    Admittedly, E has pointed out that I put things off all the time (like washing my car, getting groceries, etc), and it’s tough to admit it, but she’s right. I’ve made quite an effort to get things done right away because of it, and have found I am much less stressed about putting things off and letting them accumulate (I think this annoyed Angel A as well but she never really stated it as an issue).

    I don’t know if what I said makes any sense… haha.

  3. M April 20, 2011 at 4:02 pm #

    I’m so glad you mentioned Angel A, because I wasn’t 100% sure it was you. You should have said Name!

    Yes, you’re right about the messaging and he did apologize and explained that he wasn’t trying to imply that I was cutting corners, but more so trying to see why the Prof would have overreacted and said that if it had no basis. Answer: because that’s the kind of boss he is!

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers