February Detox

26 Jan

So detox is a little bit of an extreme word, but looking at people’s fb statuses it seems to be the fad word of the month. So I’m proposing a financial and health “detox” for myself in February. What I need though is two friends to hold me accountable. One friend who I need to weekly? Every other day? Submit my spending to in order to ensure that I stay within my budget. I feel like if I need to tell someone what I bought and how much I paid for it I’m much more likely to stay accountable and stick to my budget. I’m thinking the new Godmother for this task.

Next “detox” would be a food/exercise one. I would need to submit my log of what I ate (and how many calories it was) as well as how much I exercised to someone. Now this would be really embarrassing I find if people knew quite how poorly I ate. My Lose it app on my iphone can be programmed to email my food/exercise log so this would be functionally quite easy. I’m thinking hmmm I still haven’t come up with a name for her but she knows who she is! (Hi, McDonaldsHater / Ex-Gym / ??? ).

I’m wondering if I had this accountability I could do it. Once I have the motivation I think it will be more habit and perhaps for March I would still enlist the help of my friends but on a less daily/weekly basis.

Thoughts? Does this seem like a good plan?

6 Responses to “February Detox”

  1. Sarah January 28, 2011 at 9:13 am #

    I’m all about it. Starting Tuesday you are officially accountable to me! = D

  2. M January 31, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    Uh Oh! Here we go!

  3. Mark January 31, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    I’ve done the food log with friends before. What we did was set up a Google Doc spreadsheet so we could all keep track of each other. It worked pretty well for me for a while until everyone else got tired of it. I need to find someone to do that again because the scale says I’ve been slacking pretty badly lately.

    I should probably do the budget thing, too. Without sharing actual numbers, it would be nice to see how you set that up?


  1. January Resolution Sum Up « Sudden Silence - January 31, 2011

    […] in all I would say I’m 50% ish on track. With the February Detox I have great hopes for the next 28 […]

  2. Kids Fun School» January Resolution Sum Up - February 2, 2011

    […] in all I would say I’m 50% ish on track. With the February Detox I have great hopes for the next 28 […]

  3. Feb Resolution/Detox Fail « Lost and Forgotten - March 4, 2011

    […] February Detox […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers