Archive | 1:51 pm

2011 New Years Resolutions

30 Dec

It’s that time of year: when you make promises and wishes for the new year and most likely do not follow through. What? I’m just being realistic!

Mine are in keeping with what I imagine everyone says, “lose weight, save money, pay down debt.” However, I’d like to make it a little more practical so I’m going to break it down to tangible goals similar to my attempt last year until I got pregnant and threw my resolutions to the wind.

  • Get back to pre-pregnancy weight.
    • Goal: Last time I weighed myself (which was awhile ago) this would mean losing 15 lbs.
    • Deadline: I’d like to do this by bikini season ideally July when I go to Orlando for a conference.
    • Action Steps: Means stop snacking on random shit, stop drinking coke, eat normal sized portions. (This will be applied after tomorrow’s Fogo de Chao devouring).
  • Exercise
    • Goal: Possibly run half marathon with @zwjohnson
    • Deadline: Monthly
    • Action Steps: Go to the gym 12 x every month for Medica discount.
  • Financial/ Career
    • Goal: Don’t accrue any new debt and attempt to pay off existing. Adding $1,860 in monthly daycare expenses means paying down debt ceases to be a realistic possibility as all my money will go towards daycare expenses.
    • Action Steps: Use refund money to pay off windows and fridge. Stay in the Green for budget! Have a garage sale this summer. Ask for raise at January performance review. Look for new jobs.
  • Take better care of my dogs
    • Action Steps: Take to dog park more frequently, run around the block with them, leave Kong filled with treats to prevent boredom.
  • Be a better Parents and apply some of these Mommy Resolutions

    • Action Steps:
      • Play with Bear every day (and Bella too)
      • Make sure Bear washes his hands before eating (we’re terrible about remembering that)
      • Bear should watch less tv (or movies)
      • At least once a week family dinner
      • We should also bathe the kids more often
      • Have Bear clean up his room before bedtime
      • Start bedtime routine with Bella
      • Have Bella sleep in crib not swing for daytime naps
  • Me and The H Time
    • Goal: Spend time with the H not watching TV, without the kids or friends
    • Action Steps: The H possibly accompany me to Orlando for conference, Mexico in December for 5 year wedding anniversary. Scatter some date nights throughout the year. (And actually go somewhere not have McDonalds and watch TV, or hang out with Friends.

Future Goals:

Find a way to logistically have another baby in 2012 or 2013:

Current plan is to try in January, February and March of 2012 and if we don’t succeed try again after my 28th birthday. I really don’t want to be pregnant on my golden birthday (no idea why this is important to me) so i’d need to have a baby before or after.

  • This would require us getting a minivan (we’ll be done paying off the Subaru February 2012 and the Deathmobile is well the Deathmobile)
  • We would need to make the basement office a livable room and move Bear there or the kids would need to share a room or we’d share a room with baby or most unlikely move to a bigger house.
  • Would like to have no debt at this time.
    • End of 2012 Bear would be in school so we’d have 2 in daycare (not 3!)
    • We would have had a year with no car payments (though I imagine minivan costs much more than our Subaru Forester also assumes Deathmobile can make it this long)
    • Hopefully we’ll both have raises/new jobs at this time.
    • Very dependent on how 2011 goes financially…

2010 New Years Resolutions Results

30 Dec

First let’s see how I did in 2010 with the resolutions I set  last year:


Result: I was pregnant so I ate like it and I did not exercise. I slept. According to I ate out 10 times in January.

  • Stop eating like I’m pregnant or famished.
    • Measured by using my iphone calorie counting app
    • Start exercising regularly in preparation for May’s 1/2 Marathon
      • 3x per week
    • Continue concept of “No Chipotle December”
      • Eat out 2X for lunch the whole month and once for dinner with the H
      • Exclusion being my birthday


    Result: Looking at credit card debt spreadsheet my debt did NOT increase. And I did NOT have any categories in the red. Woohoo!

    • Continue previous 3 goals.
    • Accrue no new credit card debt
    • Actually stick to budget for once.
      • Have no category in the red on mint


    Result: Gained weight (pregnant). Spent a lot on Bear’s birthday.

    • Continue previous goals
    • Have lost 5 lbs
    • Don’t go overboard on son’s birthday
      • Keep party spending under $50, do not buy additional gifts.


    Result: No Training, Budge was in the green and I did pay off my Target card!

    • Have run reasonable time on half marathon training
    • Keep budget in the green and continue No Chipotle December principles
    • Have paid down half of Target credit card.
      • or more depending on tax return!


    Result: Neither (pregnant)

    • Run 1/2 Marathon!
    • Go to Vegas and win Big!
      • I will settle with not losing big

    By end of 2010:


    • Had a baby.
    • Paid off credit cards then bought windows, a fridge, a pool, had my carpet cleaned, had a baby.
    • Did not keep budget in the green (except for January, February and April)
    • Spent bijillions on Christmas
    • Have gotten to ideal weight
    • Have paid off Target credit card, and some of Citi card.
    • Have kept to budget (as much as possible)
    • Did not spend bijillions on Christmas.

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

    Join 1,022 other followers