Archive | 2:07 pm

Weeks 25-29

6 Jul

Well I’ve certainly gotten a whole lot bigger since the last post. According to this torture device known as a scale I’ve already gained 25 lbs. Considering 25-35 is normal baby weight gain (and I was hoping to stay closer to 25) and I have 11 weeks left I’m not too thrilled. Perhaps its because I can never seem to stop eating. I looooove eating.

At week 27 I finally had to cave and buy maternity clothes. Considering that I managed to get by with the bella band and my regular clothes for 27 weeks is fairly impressive. However that was not going to fly any longer. I was hoping to only spend $100 on maternity clothes thinking it was ridiculous even spending that much on something I would only wear for the next 3 months, but unfortunately maternity clothes are unnecessarily expensive. I suppose its worth the investment because if I had only invested in it my first pregnancy I would have had clothes this time around. So I figure I’ll take the hit now, be comfortable for the next three months and then have something to wear next time around. I wound up spending $219.22.

I got a denim skirt and a black top at Target Maternity (their selection was minimal), and then at Motherhood Maternity a pair of black pants and a top (ridiculously over priced store) and then at Old Navy (the store had little selection but I got a ton online) I got 2 pairs of jeans, 1 pair of khakis, 5 tees and 4 tops. So I’m pretty sure I’m set on maternity clothes and as I sit here today wearing my new pants and top in complete comfort I think it was worth it.

Sleeping remains uncomfortable and I’m constantly rubbing/itching my belly that seems to be stretching past capacity. Isabelly is also always kicking me, though rarely for anyone else. When I was in Chicago both LR and A managed to feel a few kicks from her, but usually she stops under pressure. Silly girl. It requires an enormous amount of pillows to make me comfortable and even then its barely comfortable.

I had my shower in Chicago which went really well, my friends did a great job throwing it. I got a bunch of cute girl clothes and books, and a few of the practical things I had registered for. My mother got us the bookshelf (we have the changing table attachment from Bear) that we needed. And I’m having a shower in Minnesota in August so hopefully I’ll pick up more of the things I need then. What I’m really hoping for is that the MIL buys us this stroller that I’ve done tons of research on and is highly recommended/rated. It’s also pricey.

I went on a registry purge afterwards in prep for my August Minnesota shower getting rid of anything I had registered for that wasn’t absolutely necessary in order to discourage people from getting me anything I don’t actually need (that is if they even shop of my registry to begin with). According to my calculations (not including diapers) its going to cost us $671.24 out of pocket to buy all the things on the registry that we actually need, so I’m hoping to MN shower will put a dent to that!

Also, apparently I did a really crappy job putting things away. For example yesterday I went to go get the wipes warmer from the basement to discover that I had absolutely no idea where the cord for the warmer was, it certainly wasn’t anywhere near the warmer itself or in any baby related box I looked. I also found one monitor but not the actual monitor system. I’m quite concerned that my baby registry will grow with essentials I need based solely on my crappy packing skills. Where are all these things?

My appointment yesterday went well. The Doc said that I’m measure exactly right for 29 weeks and calmed my concerns about the 10 lbs I’ve gained since last visit. Apparently I will plateau and it’s going to be okay. Now that I’m in my 3rd trimester I switch to visits every 2 weeks, but they should continue to be pretty routine: weight, blood pressure, listen to the heart beat, measure the fundus, send me home.

Other than my uncomfortable giantness everything’s good on the baby front. I love sitting in the slowly coming together nursery and looking at the few baby things we’ve accumulated thus far.

Here’s an updated pic of the bump:


6 Jul

I realize its been quite awhile since I’ve done a money related post. Probably since I quit the second job. In fact I don’t think I ever really updated about the whole windows thing and I should probably do a mid year update on my whole get out of debt resolution.

So basically in the end, by my spreadsheet calculations, (I’m obsessed with doing things in excel or in this case google docs) working the second job at the store I made $688.47. I spent at the store $210.41 so basically a net of $478.06. Which isn’t too bad, but really didn’t help too much towards paying anything off.

Similarly, we should be in a great position this summer because for 10 weeks Bear isn’t in daycare. His Aunt is watching him 2x a week and our good friend the other day that we’re both at work. While we pay them, we pay them significantly less than we would pay our daycare for those 10 weeks. We should be saving $1,682. HOWEVER June was a very bad month. We spent a lot so in the end that savings that could have gone towards debt actually went mostly towards buying things in June =/ So that really sucksĀ  that we (well really me) sucks so much. Because by my extensive spreadsheet calculations we would have been completely out of credit card debt at the end of the August with that money (minus the windows and fridge which are on a 0% APR so I’m not considering debt). But now… my calculations say and I’m not sure how, but basically that I’ll still have everything paid off in September. Let’s see if that actually works out that way!

Everything paid off but the windows and the fridge that is. With the windows we had them installed the last week of May and wound up going through an independent contractor (which I found through the MERSC program). The windows themselves are Alside. They look quite nice. I’m definitely really happy with them I’m just super kicking myself because I never took before pictures so I have no photographic evidence (or memory) of the crappy windows that used to be there. All in all the windows we went with (we redid all of the house) cost 3K less than the Andersen windows we were considering in the beginning. We wound up going with one of the Citi promotional offers so we have 0% interest until I believe Fall of 2010. We do have to make minimum payments though. Same with the fridge we got. We wound up getting a fabulous deal on a super pricey fridge and don’t pay interest for a year (but w/minimum payments). So I’m not counting either of those in my debt column since they’re interest free and I’m really banking of my tax return/the H’s bonus to pay them both off. By my calculations I need a 6K tax return/bonus combo to pay off the remaining balance they will both have next Spring. And that seems totally feasible.

I’m still really on the fence with this whole go to work/stay home thing I posted about before. On one hand things here at work are craptastic (post forthcoming) but I’m not really one who sits still well, and financially its sort of crapchute which is a better option. I’m fairly positive in the very least I’m going to spend some time looking for a new job while on leave. But we’ll see, things are getting even weirder here (is that even possible?) so perhaps I might be able to swing some sort of raise/promotion probably depends on how much ass kissing and integrity & moral respect for myself I want to lose.

All in all, things are ok on the money front. We just need to not be ridiculous like we were last month (Highlights: The H’s fishing trip and golf tournament, my Chicago Trip, Ridiculous food spending, maternity clothes, new vacuum, $300 carpet cleaning, my new Coach purse…)


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers