I think I’m going to Quit

23 Apr

So lately I’ve been tweeting about the desire to have someone make my decisions for me. I know I should be an adult and make my own decisions, but I can’t seem to in this situation. I’ve been going back and forth about quitting my second job at the store for sometime now. But I can’t commit either way. It feels like a lose/lose situation. The question becomes which is the greater loss?

A tangible financial one? I probably make $200 a month working at Express. Or the loss of intangible things like time with my family? Added physical and emotional stress?

Plus, my job is so unstable in the sense that I have no idea when I’m going to work because the schedule is irregular and goes up late almost every week which means I usually find out on Tuesday or Wednesday when I’m working on Sunday. Once in fact, not until Friday did I find out what time I was working on Wednesday. And someone with actual responsibilities I need to know what I’m doing and when. I have to plan things like child care if the H has band practice conflicting with my schedule.

Then there’s the fact that even if I do get scheduled I can always be canceled. On Monday (4/12) I got a text asking if I wanted to have Friday or Saturday cut. I eagerly said Friday hating to work 14 hour days. Then on Saturday I get a text 2 hours before I’m expecting to go in saying I have the day off. That’s great and all because I got to spend the day with my family, but I was expecting to go in. Yesterday after stressing out all day, week, etc that I had to work 14 hours I get a text as I’m leaving the museum to go to the store (20 minutes before my start time) that I can have the night off. As great as it is to have gotten cut, the fact that this happens so randomly and with such short notice is quite frustrating. I’m not even going to get into the fact that it happens all via text.

Then there’s also the fact that regardless of the fact that I said DO NOT SCHEDULE me during the week they continue to do so. Or the fact that I tried to change my schedule in the computer system to reflect my lack of availability on weeknights and  my “interaction was rejected.” I’m sorry but you can’t tell me I have to work when I say I can’t. Oh and how repeatability on days I’ve requested off (like Bear’s birthday) they schedule me anyway and then I have to call around finding someone else to work for me.

Its obvious what I want to do. I hate the stress of not knowing when I’m going to work and never having time with my family. They’re at the zoo now (because I’ll be working all weekend so why wait) and I wish I could go soooo much. I almost want to take PTO so I can join them. But why would I take PTO for a job that pays more than twice as much (and thus have less PTO for my leave) because I’m not able to spend time with my family on the weekends because I’m working a minimum wage job. It stops being a smart financial decision when I have to use PTO at the museum to accommodate my other job.

So I want to quit.

But how do I quit? Can I just text my boss like she texts me all the time? Can I get some affirmation from the peanut gallery that its really okay that at 4 months pregnant I stop working a second job? (Yes I’m totally playing the pregnancy card.)

7 Responses to “I think I’m going to Quit”

  1. eigenman April 23, 2010 at 11:07 am #

    I’d quit, the working conditions sound awful. Take some time to order the rest of your life and find a different job that’s respectful of your schedule?

    Also aren’t you paying back most of your wages by buying clothes for the job? Fuck that

  2. kimmy8989 April 23, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    I would quit! Your pregnant right?

  3. Michael April 24, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    That texting is ridiculously unprofessional, as is the constant last-minute shift changes. Part-time jobs shouldn’t be like that. I vote quit!

    • M April 26, 2010 at 9:01 am #

      I’m definitely agreeing with everyone that its really time to go. Its stressful, keeps me away from my family, and really I don’t earn that much. And its not like we need the money but it certainly helps. As my friend E says, its really just going to pay for my Chipotle addiction.


  1. Split Personality « Sudden Silence - May 19, 2010

    […] do this with quitting my second job at the store all the time. I mean in a previous post I was 100% gungho, but then I didn’t because I decided that there were too many things that I […]

  2. So I Quit on Thursday « Sudden Silence - May 24, 2010

    […] 24, 2010 in Uncategorized So remember when I kept going back and fort about quitting? And then in my last post said I wasn’t? Well then I quit on Thursday. I had just dropped the […]

  3. Quitting « Sudden Silence - January 8, 2011

    […] quitting. I don’t like to quit anything. Remember when I wanted to quit my therapist? And my second job? Well I agonized about both forever until I finally actually did it.  I don’t regret either […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers