The Writing Group

7 Jan

So I took a writing class at the Loft this past Fall. Which was out of my comfort zone, but I wanted to start writing again. I wrote two short stories (both of which I like, and the second one I think could be expanded into a novel). But most importantly from my class a writing group developed that wanted to keep meeting outside of class which ended while I was in Mexico.

I, being a doofus, didn’t talk much to anyone at class except a girl whom I later discovered was in fact not my age, but still in high school (a senior though!). But I joined the group. I went to the very first meeting thanksgiving week and had a great time. I was one of the last to leave and stayed with 3 of the people to smoke a cigarette before driving home. I had a great time.

I was supposed to go to a meeting on Monday that I had been looking forward to for some time. Instead I came up with a series of excuses not to go. 1) I had been cleaning all day so I wanted to veg 2) I had a cold 3) I wanted to watch LOST. Mostly, I didn’t go because I’m a wiener and I don’t like being in potentially awkward situations with people I don’t know and I hate driving to Uptown or Minneapolis in general.

I have no idea why I’m so apprehensive. I’m an extremely social and outgoing person in certain settings (the setting being one which I’m with people I do know) but on my own, I get so shy. So I didn’t go, and regretted it. And I got invited to this tweetup that I’m also unlikely to go, because again I won’t know anyone. And when I went to that party in September at the Buddhist place, that was so unbelievably out of character,  I had a great time, of course I never followed up and went again.

What is wrong with me?

I need to hang out more with L who’s my latest friend acquisition and who is also one of the  most outgoing people I know. Maybe she’ll rub off on me.

3 Responses to “The Writing Group”

  1. Meghan January 7, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    Since I can only assume the tweetup to which you refer is, in fact, the #stptweetup this month (and because you tweeted the link to this, piquing interest with the use of “awkward” and clearly begging for comment from the peanut gallery), I think I’ll chime in.

    1. Everyone feels the same way you do. I assume this because I feel the same way, and if there are two of us, there are probably more of us.

    2. This is one of the most welcoming groups of people who ever did meet. And they’re all nerds, and nerds are awesome.

    3. There will be cookies.

    4. After reading this post, I’m convinced we’d get along famously, and I officially want to meet you in real life.

    There you have it: four reasons you should get over your awkwardness and come to the tweetup. I hope – no, expect – to see you there.

    • M January 7, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

      :-) Lol. Well yes, I suppose it was somewhat obvious when I referenced something we had tweeted about minutes before! This was actually a draft post I had started long ago when I went to the first writing group meeting in November and I went to finally finish the post and since the tweetup was on my mind I couldn’t help but mention it. You have convinced me to attend barring any excuses 1) LOST watching 2) Sickness 3) Laziness, I will come. It certainly helps that its just blocks from my work!

  2. E January 7, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    Maybe I need to attend this Tweetup! We can celebrate that we survived the sinking of the Titanic exhibition. =p

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers