No Chipotle December

1 Dec

I’ve decided that December will be a fast food/restaurant free month. Specifically and with most difficulty I’m going to forgo my weekly burrito. I have a sign up on my work calendar that says “No Chipotle December” and I’ve alerted all my burrito going colleagues, as I ate my final burrito yesterday, of the change. None of them think I can do it. Here’s why I think I can:

  • Week 1 (Nov 30-Dec 4) I had my weekly burrito in November
  • Week 2 (Dec 7-11) I will be in Mexico
  • Week 3 (Dec 14-18) Our office Xmas party is on the 17th.
  • Week 4 (Dec 21-25) I will have Thur/Fri off for Xmas
  • Week 5 (Dec 28-1) I will have Thur/Fri off for New Years.

I think that by having other major eating events in each week (and extra time off) will decrease the amount of days that I will have to resist Chipotle. I really only have to resist 11 work days. That’s doable I think!

My reasoning for this undertaking is twofold: 1) Because while the scale refuses to show any weight gain despite 3 months of not working out or watching what I eat, my new size 4 pants are getting snug. 2) My wallet hasn’t been snug in years. In fact I’ve recently discovered these facts:

In 2009 I’ve spent $2,524 on eating out (fast food/restaurants). I think that’s obscene. More so because in 2009 we’ve spent $3,030 on groceries. If we’re buying so much food, why are we eating out all the time?

So the husband and I have signed a contract that we will not eat Chipotle, McDonalds, or Yangs (our places of choice) or anywhere else all month. With the possible exception of our best friend’s birthday, our anniversary or New Years Eve which are holidays that are likely celebrated with some sort of food.

Do you think I can do it?

3 Responses to “No Chipotle December”

  1. BDO December 1, 2009 at 9:42 pm #

    I think that is a great idea! Keep up the good work!

  2. Rebecca December 2, 2009 at 10:12 am #

    Good for you! I think you can do it, and you can always IM me at work so I can talk you out of your cravings. ;)


  1. New Years Resolutions « Sudden Silence - December 23, 2009

    […] Continue concept of “No Chipotle December” […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers