Archive | 3:33 pm

Survey Survey Survey!

22 Nov

I realize that I take a lot of surveys. And I somewhat like doing so. Usually I do it for incentives, but other times I do it under some strange assumption that companies actually care what I think.

I try to always fill out those surveys on the bottom of Target and Home Depot receipts (with the hope that I win $5K in gift cards) or at Old Navy/Gap for 10% off. I also am a part of 3 different survey programs online. One I take surveys for various rewards (that I’ve redeemed for magazine subscriptions), one that I take for airline miles, and one that I take for NBC Universal just because I like them.

Its just odd because it seems like most people do not do any sort of surveys. I figure, why not, it doesn’t take much time and I’ve always been of the belief that someone will win and it might as well be me. (Yet I’ve never won, but I always put my business card in at Chipotle and have won twice lunch for me and 4 of my friends!)

Hostess with the Mostess

22 Nov

Last night I had my annual Thanksgiving dinner and it was great. I just really really love hosting parties. I don’t know why, but I always have. I used to want to do it professionally; be a wedding planner or party planner. On some level I still wouldn’t mind doing it professionally, the little work that I do with events at the Museum is one of my favorite parts of my job. The thing is, I like hosting events for my friends not asĀ  much throwing parties for other people and their friends.

If I could I would go really overboard with these parties. It’s pretty hard to contain myself as is. In fact this is the first year that I didn’t buy anything for the party (dishes, decor, linens, etc) though I was quite tempted to buy a bigger dining room table to accommodate everyone. I quickly learned that hosting such large dinners is quite expensive so I have them potluck now. I was only supposed to do the turkey and gravy this year, but obviously I couldn’t contain myself and also did a spice cake, homemade pull-apart rolls, homemade cranberries and a salad. My salad was actually amazing. Pancetta, Apples, and Walnuts YUM! I tend to always mix like 4 recipes together to create something which is what I did with the salad (and turkey and cranberries) and it turned out great. I didn’t need to take on the extra dishes (we had an absurd amount of food) or the cost of extra food, but I really wanted to and I really enjoyed cooking.

I think its because growing up it was just me and my parents so holidays and family dinners (which lasted like 20 minutes with the TV on) weren’t exactly special. So when I get to sit at the head of a table surrounded by 10 other people I love enjoying food and conversation its just really great.

In the end this is what the 11 of us ate (my fridge is full of leftovers):

  • Rolls and butter
  • Walnut, Apple and Pancetta Salad
  • Pull-apart rolls
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Mashed Potatoes
  • Cheesy Potatoes
  • Green Bean Casserole
  • Stuffing
  • Apple and Herb Stuffing
  • Cranberries
  • Jalapeno Cornbread
  • Corn on the Cob
  • Turkey and Gravy
  • Chocolate Pie
  • Pumpkin Pie
  • Spice Cake
  • Cookies
  • Vanilla and Chocolate Ice Cream

It was a BIG meal.

Sadly, then we played Squabble and the girls lost twice. It was depressing.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers