Theme Parties

27 Jul

I love theme parties and have sadly been to very few. My friends in Chicago had a themed party a few months back (Heroes and Villians) that I sadly was unable to attend. Since I’m going to visit them in a few weeks I’m trying to convince them to have another themed party since I love them so.

I realize why don’t I just have a themed party myself? I think that my friends here just wouldn’t be into that. Am I making an unfair assumption that they don’t like to drink and don ridiculous outfits?

Some themes I’ve suggested to A:

– Tarts and Vicars (shamelessly stolen from Bridget Jones)

– Angels and Demons

– Moulin Rouge or Vaudeville

-Pajama Party (though I would be torn between lingerie and my footed fleeced pjs)

– Clothes Swap (I saw this on a show, Lipstick Jungle I believe, where at some set time interval everyone had to swap an article of clothing with the person next to them. It looked quite amusing)

-Stripping Party (Which sounds dirty but isn’t. You come wearing as much clothes as you canĀ  (think Joey in Chandler’s clothes, this is also really easy to facilitate for people and requires no creativity) and every hour someone would ring a bell or yell or whatever and everyone would remove an article of clothes and presumably take a drink… this could be done every half hour as well.

I’m sure I could think of more given time but these are the ones that have come to mind the quickest.

One Response to “Theme Parties”

  1. Art July 28, 2009 at 1:44 pm #


    The best theme party I’ve ever been to was an underwear party. I am a big fan of the sexy-themed party. Either that, or something that would facilitate a pun costume.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers