Single and Sexless?

20 Feb

So due to a sale of “Sex and the City” dvds at Target seasons 1-5 have come to my possession (I already owned 6) and as I’ve been watching them for the first time in what has to be years I’ve come to one startling conclusion,

“These girls have a lot of fucking sex.”

I mean really all the time. I’m pretty sure if one of them goes longer than say, a month, it becomes a crisis worthy of a lunch and new sheets or at least a class in tantric sex.

I don’t feel like my single friends have remotely as much sex. Granted they’re not 30 and in New York, but I don’t think like that should remove the possibility of constant sex. I’m fairly certain that if I had to guess I would say some of my friends haven’t had sex in months. I don’t really know, but if I would guesstimate I would say:

  • K – 8 mths +?
  • M – 4 mths
  • P – 2 mths?
  • E – 4 mths?
  • S – 2 mths?

Hmm what an interesting proposition. Somehow the ladies don’t factor in because I know if they wanted to have sex they probably could. So poll time.

Do you think that the single people you know (yourself included if applicable) have nearly/or could have nearly as much sex as on the “Sex and the City”?

4 Responses to “Single and Sexless?”

  1. trillian1138 February 22, 2009 at 5:02 pm #

    I feel like not including the single ladies (all the single ladies!) is kind of unfair. (Sorry, now I’m going to have that song stuck in my head the rest of the day…)

    The point isn’t _could_ they be having sex, it’s _are_ they? You said, “I’m pretty sure if one of them [on Sex and the City] goes longer than say, a month, it becomes a crisis worthy of a lunch and new sheets or at least a class in tantric sex.” Presumably, they _could_ go trawling and get some skeezey guy to have sex with, but they’re not. And the lack of sex is still a big issue.

    And if your single girl friends aren’t having sex, that still seems to indicate that all your single friends are surviving sexless.

    If you want to talk about how much sex they _could_ have, then yes, I’d imagine it’s easier for girls to get sex than guys in this culture. But that doesn’t really sound like it’s the same issue.

  2. M February 25, 2009 at 9:45 am #

    I think I’m confused by what your comment is saying. What?

    (“All the single ladies, put your hands up!” — Damn you!)

    I think my argument really is about my single male friends and not females under the assumption that a) None or very few of my female friends are single b) They could have sex, but chose not to.

    My assumptions are that my guy friends are a) mostly single and b) would like to have sex, but aren’t.

    So the poll and there after is really focused on male singles which isn’t directly correlated to Sex and the City which focuses on female singles, it just however got me thinking about my single and sexless male friends!

  3. R February 25, 2009 at 12:00 pm #

    Sorry for the confusion. I was originally assuming that you were trying to make a direct connection between the amount of sex your single guy and girl friends have. It then seemed unfair you were focusing only on the guys, if neither the guys nor the girls were having as much sex as on the show. But it sounds like you’re aware that the situation with your guy friends has nothing to do with the sex life of your girl friends, or of Sex and the City, and you were just curious about your guy friends’ sex lives. Which is completely fair.

    That said, I still think your assumptions are unfair (and sexist) , in that you’re assuming your single girl friends are choosing not to have sex, while your single guy friends would jump at the chance but don’t have the opportunity. I’m not saying that guys and girls are the same when it comes to sex, but from having many of the same friends I do think it’s unfair to say our guy friends are sex-crazy and our girl friends are non-sexual beings. And that your guy friends are looking for/willing to put up with one-night-stands, while your girl friends aren’t.

    Just my two cents.

  4. M February 26, 2009 at 9:36 am #

    I don’t think that I’m making an unfair assumption. All or most of my female friends are in relationships so I don’t think they are really even a part of the conversation. Yes, they are sexual beings and if they were single I do think that to an extent they would be more on the “prowl.” But they’re not so I’m not even thinking about that.

    Also, I’m not necessarily assuming drunken one night stands. Despite Samantha most of the characters date the people they’re sleeping with. Remember Charlotte’s 3 date minimum. Our male friends aren’t particularly doing that and thus aren’t having much “single sex”. I am however just assuming that because I don’t actually know not living there and them not calling me up and saying I dated this girl for two weeks and then we ended it.

    What I am saying though and perhaps it can’t be compared to the show because of the age difference. Is that the show makes it appears as though people who are single are often out and about, meeting people, dating, (having sex) and I don’t feel like that’s the sort of single life that my male friends lead.

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,022 other followers